More information about the Independent State and its activities can be found at

If you are interested in hearing about Independent State events you can sign  up for the (occasional) email newsletter here!  (See the  archive of past emails)

You can contact the Independent State by email to or

You can also call Jim Ayling at the White Harte Inne on 01444 413454
Or talk to any of the volunteers currently serving on the committee of the Independent State of Cuckfield.


Widget not in any sidebars

The activities of the Independent State of Cuckfield are coordinated by a committee of volunteers, including the incumbent Mayor.  Many of Cuckfield’s residents also help out, and new stewards, helpers and innovators are always welcome!

The Independent State also seeks to reinforce the sense of Cuckfield community through the participation of Cuckfield residents in the organisation of, and attendance at, the various Independent State of Cuckfield events.

It is the committee that organises the annual events, including the election night and count, the new Mayor’s Parade,  Easter Walking Race, the May Day Cuckoo Fayre and the Pensioners’ Christmas Lunch.

The current committee comprises

Mayor – Leanne Knapman
Chairman – Jim Ayling
Secretary – Martin Ingebretson
Treasurer – Ken Gregory
Tina Blackburn
Shirley Coates
Heather Gover
Doreen Gregory
Tina Heath
Helen Heward
Kate Horne
Leanne Knapman
Jo Murphy
Vicky Parke
Annie Rees
Nick Rowe
Debbie Schlup
Mike Schlup
Jane Swain
Tony Taylor
Liz Woods
Richard Woods